June 27th, 1980 — July 19th, 1980


La Boite Theatre


La Boite Theatre


Malcolm Blaylock


David Allen


Nik Aleksiev
Stephen Billett
Chris Burns
Jim Doherty
Mark Eckersley
Marc Hamilton
Caroline Hatcher
Sabina Head
Jan Huggett
Kym Lynch
David Moore
Tony Phelan
David Store
Amanda Webb

Dickinson by David Allen

During Malcolm Blaylock’s time as Artistic Director, the political and socially critical flavour of some of the plays became a characteristic feature of La Boite’s artistic work during his time.

Dickinson reminded critic Veronica Kelly of “the deadly bitterness of the struggle against a predatory and bloodthirsty capitalism, culminating in … the Depression”, in a production “of a fine standard, with La Boite’s mix of inexperienced and accomplished actors in as near as possible a state of homogeneous achievement”.[i]

Writer: Christine Comans

[i] Theatre Australia, Aug. 1980, p.53.

Tell us your story